Youngsters celebrated for their creative talents

There were smiles all round as some of the Fylde coast's top young artists were recognised for their creative talents.

Monday, 20th March 2017, 9:57 am
Updated Friday, 24th March 2017, 10:49 am
The Young Seasiders Schools Arts and Crafts Presentation evening

Children from almost 50 schools converged on The Blackpool Tower Circus for the prize presentation evening of the 70th Young Seasiders Arts and Crafts Exhibition which is sponsored by Blackpool and The Fylde College.

Each prizewinner was presented with a medal, winner’s certificate and goody bag by Andy Sykes, The Gazette’s Deputy Editor, and Nigel Brown, Head of School of Creative Arts and Digital Industries at Blackpool and The Fylde College.

This year, The Gazette Trophy was awarded to Flakefleet Primary School. Schools had been tasked with the theme ‘Celebrating 125 years of Blackpool and The Fylde College’ and Flakefleet impressed the judges with their model of a fishing trawler to scoop the top prize.

The Young Seasiders Schools Arts and Crafts Presentation evening

Christine Smith, from Flakefleet, said: “We researched the background of the college and found that it started as the School of Fisherman in Fleetwood.

“As our school is in Fleetwood, we thought the perfect display would be a trawler.”

Jamie-Leigh Tilley, of Larkholme Primary School, scooped the top awards from Blackpool and The Fylde College.

Other students receiving a highly commended honour from the college included Eva Csesznyak of Lytham St Annes Technology College, Ella-May Wilson of Boundary Primary School, Ellie Hitchen of Devonshire Primary School, Daisy Atkinson of Highfield Leadership Academy and Chole Jewers of St Mary’s Catholic Academy.

Blackpool Gazette Trophy winners Flakefleet Primary

Blackpool Art Society also presented additional prizes to Ronan Barratt of St Mary’s Catholic Academy, Martyna Supel of Unity Academy and Alannah Hayward-Harper, of Mayfield Primary School.

Admission is free and Andy Sykes urged all parents and families attending the presentation evening to visit the exhibition and see the fantastic display.

Nigel Brown said: “The Young Seasiders Exhibition is one of the highlights of the year, and once again it is a colourful and vibrant exhibition demonstrating the array of talent our youngsters possess. 

“A huge thank you to the teachers for continuing to inspire our young artists.”

The Young Seasiders Schools Arts and Crafts Presentation evening


Anchorsholme Primary Academy

Oliver Dobson, Laela Rayworth, Torah Lythgoe

Ansdell Primary School

Blackpool Gazette Trophy winners Flakefleet Primary

Henry Oliver, Mia Wood, Nathaniel Edwards, Tommy McVeigh

Baines Endowed CE Primary School

Chloe Taylor, Leona Lomas, Marley Morgan, Bobby Bridges

Bispham Endowed Cof E Primary School

Paul French, Alfie Atkinson, Connor Leaver, Alice Wilson

Boundary Primary School

Rosie Edgar, Joleigh Pedlar, Jacob Davies, CJ Shewan

Cardinal Allen Catholic High School

Davyd Tolkach, Hannah Cardwell, Hansa Ranasinghi, Laura Klavina

Charles Saer Primary School

Ethen-Jorge Constable, Bryson Holden, Emily O’Brien,

Sienna Thompson

Devonshire Primary School

Ellise Macdonnell, Tulisa Foster, Andrea Horjea, Keeley Spencer

Flakefleet Primary School

Stephen Wilson, Lucy Wilsher, Jessica Arthurs, Lee Gregory

Hambleton Primary Academy

Erin Heaton, Imogen Preston, Cara Kennedy, Lilly May Loveridge

Hawes Side Academy

Bethany Cartmell, Leo Rodgers Turner, Millie May Singleton,

Abi Potter

Highfield Leadership Academy

Daisy Atkinson, Abigail McGowan, Jessica Holden- Lonsdale, Courtney Till.

Hodgson Academy

Tyler Tomlinson, Rhiannon Lloyd Jones, Subha Nudhar,Phoebe Wheatley

Holy Family Catholic Primary School

Grace Cholmondeley, Abby Richardson, Lewis Houghton,

Isabelle Hutson

Kincraig Primary School

Joshua Tierney, Marcus Rockall, Rhianna Aso, Emily Lloyd

Larkholme Primary School

Ava Boswell, Stuart Hadcraft, Ayla Duran, Jasmine Kerr

Layton Primary School

Jessica-Rose O’Connor, Ruby Challinor, Jocelyn Finnie, Roman Noble

Lytham St Annes High School

Misty Woodhouse, Elise Sanderson, Eva Csesznyak, Daisy Webster

Manor Beach Primary School

Kayden Whitehead, Thomas Hill, Shelby McCabe, Tyler Whitfield

Marton Primary Academy

Aaliyah Labormie, Bernadette Jenkins, Mia Shelliker,Ruby Griffiths

Mayfield Primary School

Jack Clavering, Josh Winfield, Christen Town, Joshuah Mackintosh

Moor Park Primary School

Charlie Morris, Logan Edwards, Isobelle Bioletti, Wojtek Idzior

Our Lady of the Assumption Catholic Primary School

Lottie Harrison, Eva Edwards, Charlie Scholes, Sophie Newton

Park Community Academy

Lee Jones, Louis Chen, Chloe Prince, Phoebe Sheldon

Poulton St Chad’s Cof E Primary School

Rohan Williams, Macey Rainbow, Eve Cunningham, Freya Bandtock

Red Marsh School

Claudia Brewer, Oscar Bradley

Revoe Learning Academy

Callum Westhead, Tallula Barraclough, Jasmine O’Connor,

Alex Arajs

Ribby with Wrea Endowed C of E Primary School

Annabel Taylor, Lewis Martin, Boon Anan-Mornsawas,

Millie Haden-Brown

Royles Brook Primary School

Jack Brundish, Holly Walwyn, Tayla Dyas, Thomas Gilmour

Sacred Heart Catholic Primary School

Tyler Carter, Lexi Martin, Chloe Beck, Elliotte Wheeldon

Shakespeare Primary School

Ben Wells, Emma, Asa Holden, Tilly Hargreaves

South Shore Academy

Jay Caton, Kasey Lovelock, Nicola Culbece, Ellie-Mae McKone

St Bernadette’s RC Primary School

Laila Rothwell, Lily Grabarz, Joshua Sumner, Adam Marchwacki

St Kentigern’s RC Primary School

Benjamin Joseph, Amelia Jackson, Oliver, Depner, Casey Foster

St Mary’s Catholic Academy

Ellie Hampson, Emilia Taraskiewicz, Chloe Jewers, Ronan Barratt

St Peter’s RC Primary School

Maksim Kosogorin, Elizabeth Hall, Poppy Pickles, Joss Hewitt

The Willows RC Primary School

Finley Watts, Jarred Robinson, Jemma Harrison, Alessia Mannino

Unity Academy – Primary School

Ola Maj, Evie Holmes, Callum Gardner, Sean Jansons

Unity Academy – Secondary School

Katie Alston, Tamzin Akponwei, Rhiannan Taylor, Natasha Beattie

Waterloo Primary Academy

Lilly May Dooley, Aidan Renwick, Hayley Balfour, Ella Campbell

Weeton Primary School

Lucas Smith, Darcie Wolstencroft, Daisy Stein, Esther Bavou

Blackpool Art Society Winners:

Ronan Barratt from St Mary’s Catholic Academy;

Martyna Supel from Unity Academy Alannah Hayward-Harper from Mayfield Primary School

Blackpool and the Fylde College Winners: wJamie-Leigh Tilley, Larkholme Primary School

Highly Commended: Eva Cseznyak, Lytham St Annes High; Ella May Wilson, Boundary Primary School; Ellie Hitchen, Devonshire Primary School, Daisy Atkinson, Highfield Leadership Academy and Chloe Jewers, St Mary’s Catholic Academy

The Gazette Group Work Winner:

Flakefleet Primary School