Focus on talented pupils

Fylde youngsters put one of Lytham Hall's most popular natural features in focus '“ and their work has taken pride of place on the walls of the Georgian gem.

Thursday, 10th March 2016, 10:00 am
Prizewinners in the snowdrops art and photography competition at Lytham Hall

Scores of schoolchildren eagerly took part in an art and photography competition organised by 15-year-old Megan Rowland and delighted Hall officials with their imaginative entries.

Thousands of people flock to the Hall’s grounds from late January to early March every year to admire the snowdrops - and Megan, a student of Lytham St Annes Technology and Performing Arts College who has been on work experience at the Hall and is a keen photographer herself, suggested the competition as a way of reflecting the appeal of the flowers which are traditionally the first hint of spring.

Local businesses contributed prizes and the judges included Fylde mayor Coun Peter Hardy and MP Mark Menzies.

The contest for young photographers was split into primary and secondary sections, won respectively by 10-year-old James Hardaker of Heyhouses School and Abigail Jukes, 11, of Lytham St Annes Technology and Performing Arts College. Nine-year-old Lily-Ann Crowther, of Ansdell Primary School, took the art award.

The snowdrops have now gone for the season, but the Hall grounds and cafe remain open through the week and competition entries are on show in the lobby of the tea room until the end of this month.

Marianne Blaauboer, activity plan officer at the Hall, said: “Megan has done has shown lots of initiative and creativity and the results are great.

“It’s made us see snowdrops in a completely new light, and believe me, after weeks of snowdrop walks, that’s quite extraordinary.

“It has been another wonderful snowdrops season, with Saturday opening for the first time proving a big success and the photographs and artwork submitted for the competition have provided some lasting memories.”

Megan said: “When I approached Lytham Hall to do a project, I never thought the results would be so good.”

Along with Abigail, James, and Lily-Ann, awards also went to Tabitha England, Louis Weston, Maygen Senior, Larna Jones, Grace Whittaker, Zachary Wallbank, Maisie Wheeldon, Evie Cunningham, Grace Wallbank and Ava Hembury.