Just champion!

ROYAL Lytham and St Annes golfer Ian Crowther is the 2012 Fylde amateur champion.

Wednesday, 5th September 2012, 9:30 am

He was a double winner in the 36-hole competition held at Lytham Green Drive as he also won the John Roberts Salver as the leading golfer over-50, continuing his monopoly of that prize.

Leader after the first round was young Lancaster golfer Adam Stone, who scored a very creditable 69.

After the morning round, Stone enjoyed a one-stroke lead over Royal Lytham’s Ian Hill.

Crowther challenged from behind to card rounds of 72 and 69 to beat Hill by two shots, with Adam Stone a further two strokes adrift.

The first three players also deservedly picked up the age-related prizes.

Stone took the Harold Flynn Trophy for the best gross score by a player under 21,

Ian Hill picked up the Cliff Bowman Trophy for over-35s.

Crowther’s success meant that for the fourth year running, he won the over-50s trophy.

The best 36-hole nett score went to St Annes Old Links player Gary Potter with nett score of 142.

The second best nett went to Gerry Coyle, from Royal Lytham and St Annes, who beat Dean Beaver, of Green Drive, on a card play-off.

Beaver won the morning nett prize with a nett score of 70, again after a card play-off with Tim Johnson, from St Annes Old Links.

At the presentation afterwards all of the prize winners complimented the head greenkeeper, Doug Chilton, and his green-staff team for the way the course was presented despite all the recent wet weather.


Winner (overall gross): Ian Crowther (Royal Lytham, 141, 72,69)

Second: Ian Hill (Royal Lytham, 143, 70, 73)

Third: Adam Stone (Lancaster Golf Club, 145, 69. 76)

Nett prize winner: Gary Potter (St Annes Old Links, 142)

Runner-up: Gerry Coyle (Royal Lytham, 145 after a card play-off)

AM gross: Simon Older (Fleetwood, 72 acpo)

AM nett: Dean Beaver (Lytham Green Drive, 70, acpo)

PM gross: Mikiel Tchobanian (Blackpool North Shore, 72)

PM nett: Peter Collis (Blackpool North Shore, 70)

Under-21, Harold Flynn Trophy: Adam Stone (Lancaster GC)

Over-35, Cliff Bowman Trophy: Ian Hill (Royal Lytham)

Over-50, John Roberts Salver: Ian Crowther (Royal Lytham)

>> LANCASTER’S Daniel Sefton beat Alex Leung (Fairhaven) in the final of The Bowman Fylde Amateur League matchplay final held at Royal Lytham and St Annes.