Concert marks the start of Spring

Nicola Howard
Nicola Howard
Share this article

The Lytham St Annes Choral Society performs its spring concert on April 23 at Kirkham Grammar School.

The concert will feature two pieces written by Mozart the Solemn Vespers written in 1780 and his last piece, the Requiem 1791.

The vespers were written for Salzburg Cathedral and comprise five Psalms and a Magnificat.

The fifth of the vespers is the beautiful and very popular Laudate Dominum.

The Requiem was only half written when Mozart died, in fact the Lacrimosa from the Requiem was the last music Mozart wrote.

However, the Requiem was completed by his pupil Sussmayer to whom Mozart gave sketches from his deathbed. It has remained one of the most popular choral compositions of the last 200 years.

The choir will be accompanied by an invited orchestra and will also feature four soloists: Aimee Presswood – soprano, Joanna Harries - mezzo-soprano, Christopher Littlewood – tenor and Richard Moore – baritone.

This concert will be special because it will be the first concert given in front of its new President, Nicola Howard following the death of the 
previous president and Nicola’s tutor Barbara Robotham.